I Forge Iron

Where is your vise mounted?

Everything Mac

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My vise is on a stand which has been buried in the dirt floor.  I worked in a shop with moveable vises and didn't really care for it.  I do have another vise in the shop which is moveable, though. 

Greetings Mac,

I have several set ups for my vises but I will pass on one that works well for me in one of my shops that requires portability...  This set up is easily moved with a shop cart and the small top shelf is great for clamping or tools and punches....  The Cole vise removes with ease and the large pads on the legs make it quite stable...  Good luck you will get many suggestions on which is best as we all have our favorites..

Hammer on

Jim                  post-30666-0-49494200-1365380412_thumb.j

Hi jim,
That's the kind if thing I was thinking of building as I quite like having my vise mobile, especially seeing as my workshop is so small.

Though I'm considering bolting it directly to my workbench which saves me having to move it around all the time.

Can't do anything for another week at least yet as I'm working offshore for now.

Cheers
Andy

I've had a large (5" jaws) leg vice on its cast iron stand in my workshop for about 7 years and its always driven me mad. It moves around when I don't want it to. So I fanally got around to burying a wooden post (tree trunk) in the ground and mounting a vice to it. MUCH happier! :D  It doesn't matter what angle I twist or bang at it, the thing doesn't move :)

We have two post vices in the shop.

One is attached to a piece of structural tubing with a 1 in top plate. It's a large, forged, HD vice does move about some when its being used. The flexibility of being able to move it outweighs the aggravation of its unintended movements.

Another smaller vise, 5 in, Indian chief, is mounted on any of the (5)- 2 inch sockets located on the underside of the tables perimiter.