I Forge Iron

gas igniting prematurely(burning in venturi)

Jim S

I have a forgemaster two burner gas forge.  Usually when it initially starts, it gurgles for a few seconds due to, I guess, premature ignition.  Several days ago the gurgling didn't go away and since I only wanted to heat a small piece of steel to anneal it, I left the steel in place for a few minutes.  However when the powder coat began crinkling (burning/melting(, I shut everything down.

Factory literature says one of the burners is igniting prematurely.  However,  there is no mention of what to do.  An email to Forgemaster has produced no response to date.  Does anyone have any suggestions for correcting the problem?

Thanks.

Jim

I don't know about that particular forge, but it's likely that there is an obstruction in the burner (probably the orifice).  I'm assuming that one of the burners is working properly.   You should be able to recognize that by looking into the forge.  If there is a shutoff valve near the burner(s), crank up the pressure as high as you can, then turn the shutoff valve off, then on right away.  If that doesn't work, disassemble the burner(s) and use a welding tip cleaner to clear the orifices. 

If that doesn't work,  you probably need to disassemble the manifold to see if there is junk in there anywhere.  Blow it all out with high air pressure (careful not to damage your lining).   I have had "what looks like wax" build up in plumbing.  One more thing, mud daubers love to crawl into small places and do their magic.  When they do, it usually just takes a thorough cleaning and things start working again.

Forgmaster forges do not have a venturi;  they are aspirated forges.  Now that may be splitting hairs but understanding how the forge works will help you fix the problem.