I Forge Iron

Need to Make Spring for Welding Work Clamp

Hello, all,

The coil spring in the 300A work clamp for my welder recently broke, and since I have some 5/32" spring steel that's almost the exact same diameter as the wire used in the original spring, I figured I'd give it a try. (I just knew the springs from that old bed boxspring would be useful for SOMEthing!)

Anyway, I'm a complete novice at blacksmithing, and just wanted to check with you folks for any tips on making this spring.

In general, I plan to:

1. Heat the spring material to cherry red to shape it
2. Quench in oil
3. Temper to about 700°F

The main questions I have are:

1. Should I heat the spring material to critical temperature and allow it to slow-cool first to normalize it, before reheating it to shape it? Or will heating it to cherry red to shape it normalize it "along the way"? In other words, is normalizing a necessary preliminary step, or will the spring steel be normalized in the process, simply by virtue of being heated above critical temperature?

2. I'm not sure how to temper at this high temperature (assuming it's the correct temperature). The oven doesn't get this hot. Can I put the quenched spring back into the coal forge and keep checking it for color (or with an infrared thermometer) to pull it out when it reaches 700°F ? Also, does the spring need to soak at 700°F for a while, or will it be OK if it just reaches 700° and then comes out of the fire to air cool?

Are there any other big things that I need to do, or think about, that I don't even have the sense yet to ask about?

Thanks in advance for any tips.