I Forge Iron

It takes money to blacksmith !!!!

Many people come on this site, whether in the forums or the chat room, and ask where can they find tools, equipment, stuff, etc cheap and fast. It should be public knowledge that it takes money to get into blacksmithing, it is an expensive hobby and even more expensive to set up as a profession to earn a living. A 100 lb anvil will cost more than $200, tongs are better than $20 a pair, hammers are $20 and up, chisels and punches and flatters and swages and tools too numerous to mention all cost money...whether bought outright or made. Unless you want to emulate the poorest of the third world country smiths.......don't ask for cheap, it ain't happening any time soon in this country.

As a hobbyist, I too agree. I was lucky/graced by God enough to find my first anvil and leg vise, but I bought my second anvil. For the first couple of years, almost all of my metal was stuff found or scrounged. Now, my projects are spec'd with certain materials needed. You can still get cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Same is true up here in Canada, every now and then I still find some good used tools for a great price but if you want a complete, well equiped blacksmith shop you will need to take out the dollars sooner or later.