I Forge Iron

Fire Pots?

Joe Davo

Hey, I'm pretty new to the art of blacksmithing and have just hit a stumbling point.
Most of the forges that I have seen have a fire pot, but I was just wondering if it is a
necessary part of the forge. Can you get by with out one?

Thanks, and sorry if it has already been asked just couldn't find an answer. It's probably common knowledge.

Joe

Depends on what fuel you are going to be using using and what you want to make, bottom blast or side blast, hand bellows or powered, many factors to be taken into consideration before starting construction

I don't think this question has been specifically asked in this manner, but there is information on the site with videos and other pics showing primitive but effective hearths/forges directly onto the earth through to various other types, sizes and layouts.

More information from you would be helpful

Okay thanks, I'm hoping to make it bottom blast and hand powered. The overall size is going to be quiet small, probably half a metre to a metre square. Most likely charcoal or coal fuel. In the end it is very flexible, as still in the planing stages.

I will keep checking out different ideas, thanks for the help. Much appreciated.

Joe

While you technically don't need a firepot, having a firepot especially a very nice firepot can make life easier and reduce frustration. With reduced frustration a smith is less likely to give up blacksmithing. My advice is to locate a blacksmithing group near you, if possible take a few courses, and use coal forges that belong to other people so that you can find out what type of forge arrangement fits your needs and style of working.