I Forge Iron

Care and Feeding of Forged Items

kube60

Hey guys, I made (okay, they aren't quite done yet) a few pigtail meat flippers for people for Christmas. I want the people I give them to to understand that they aren't your basic dollar store bbq tool that can just be left to the elements and need special care. I was thinking of making a nice card to put in with the tools but I was wondering if any of you guys have a standard set of instructions you hand out with your forged items that you wouldn't mind me stealing borrowing. I would come up with something myself but to be honest, I'm running out of time and my usual flair for words is currently escaping me. I'm planning on blackening them with either canola oil or beeswax once they're done. Thanks in advance for the help.

ETA: My biggest problem is that, truth be told, I'm not even sure what the instructions should be. This is my first attempt at something for handling food so in the past I've always cheated and just used flat black paint. I know they they shouldn't be left out in the elements and should be oiled periodically but as to how often, I have no clue.

One other question. When I blacken them, do I blacken the hook part too or leave that bright?

I put on bees wax while still hot. Let it melt/burn on when the piece is still hot enough to make the wax sizzle. Watch out though, if the piece is hot enough the wax will ignite. Nothing horrible just a flame where you didn't expect one. Once it cools down enough to handle bare handed I wipe it down to get excess wax off and shine it up a bit. Someone posted that they use compressed air to blow off the excess hot wax before it cools.