I Forge Iron

Off Center Induction Forge Sources

I went to look at the Blacksmiths Depot website because I wanted to see the retail pricing on Grant's induction forges, but all the links are bad.

Grant, perhaps you can let us know if you're still importing these, and where we can find them. I'm not in the buying cycle quite yet for a forge, but I am in the buying cycle for a house, and I wanted to see the electrical requirements and options.

If I remember from other threads, you have a 15KW, 25KW and a 40 KW. Since I'm just a hobbyist, I'm mostly interested in the 15KW, because I can't really justify the cost of one of those, and if you start adding in complicated cooling systems, there's no way I'll be able to put one in my shop!

So I guess my question is a bit more than source. Can you also talk a bit about systems requirements for one of the small induction systems? Electricity, cooling... anything else I would need to know?

Hey guys! Well, I just started a website to try to bring all the information together in one place: OCP INDUCTION FORGE
Please excuse the mess.

The 15 KW machine is the only one that runs on single phase and requires 50 - 60 amps. I'm trying to avoid doing too much promotion on these most generous website, so go to the above for more information.

Grant, that's great, thank you.

You hit it on the head: I'm going to have 220v, but only single phase for the time being, since I don't have anything else that requires 3ph power. I had planned on having 100 amps of service, but that might be overkill.

Can you educate us on the cooling requirements? You show a picture of the induction heater on a cart, with the cooler below. What kind of cooling setup is that, and what's the approximate cost if it's not included in the price of the induction equipment?