I Forge Iron

Questions about making tools.

Greetings, My very first punch is sitting in my brick pile forge annealing right now. I have to say I had heard that high carbon steel was harder to smith but WOW, I ended up pulling out a 4lb sledge dressed up to do the heavy lifting before going back to my Hoffi hammer. However, I manages to straighten the coil spring steel, heat it yellow hot, work it square then taper slightly on the back and all the way down to the target size on the tip. Then I hit it into octagon and then into round. Then I rounded the back where the hammer is to hit the tool. Finally I heated it to non-magnetic and then cut the propane and buttoned up my pile of bricks forge tight to anneal it. Good so far? I am planing to harden it and heat treat it tomorrow. Of course since I am a newbie it took me probably 2 dozen heats and 2 hours. I hope I will get faster. I need to work on a Square drift punch to make a better nail header and a slit chisel but they can come tomorrow.

So while on this was all going on, I had some questions about making tools and about the tools themselves that i was hoping you could all chime in on.

1) What do you think about how I have done so far?

2) I was wondering what makes a punch a certain size? I know the tip is supposed to be flat and I think the diameter of the tip including the rounded corner constitutes the punch's size. They really aren't designed to be put down hardly at all through the metal it seems, just the depth of the metal itself, whereas a drift reaches its "size" at the maximum width of the tool and is tapered on both ends from that width so it can be driven through a piece of metal and makes the exact hole size desired. Am I right about this?