Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Century Welder


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Tim McCoy

Tim McCoy

    Member

  • Members
  • 474 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV

Posted 13 June 2010 - 04:47 PM

Questions from a non-welder. I found a Century 220 volt 295 amp arc welder at a yard sale sans the leads for $50.00, I bought it. I have seen many arc welders on sale lately and it seems that everyone is still very proud of their equipment and asking "too much". I did a quick search on the net and can't seem to find much info about this particular unit... one guy says that Lincoln bought Century. The box is in very good shape externally, almost new, few scrapes and no dents and the places where the din plugs on the cables plug in are clean and straight. Works AC/DC and has a cutting/hole burning feature - yippie!

I think I got this at a good price - yes/no? I will start a search for some cables, but wanted to know if those can be home made and if it is okay to make'm longer than normal? And what is normal - 10' or 25'?? Any help will be appreciated - photos below. Oh yeah, gotta get to a class to learn how to use this thing ;)

Attached Files


My Heart is a Silent Harp,
Played by Other Lives,
Tuned by Changing Needs,
With an Audience of One.

T. D. McCoy'82

#2 BIGGUNDOCTOR

BIGGUNDOCTOR

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 2,012 posts
  • LocationMoapa Valley, Nevada

Posted 13 June 2010 - 05:18 PM

Hey Tim,
keep searching CL I have seen some leads for sale for around $1-$2 a foot used. Yes, leads can be made long, and that is preferred to adding an extension cord to the welder. I have seen leads up to 100'. As a matter of fact I may have some kicking around. I will have to dig through the pile,might even have the stinger, and ground clamp. I have plenty of helmets, so don't buy one.

I've called the last couple of times I was in Vegas, but got your voice mail. We are going to have to set up a weekend where I can swing by, and give ya some schoolin' on that thingamajig. I think I brought down my copy of the Lincoln Welding text book from when I went through the junior college program, if so I can let you borrow it.
You laugh at me because I am different. I laugh at you because you are all the same.

A golf course is a terrible waste of a rifle range.

#3 Tim McCoy

Tim McCoy

    Member

  • Members
  • 474 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV

Posted 13 June 2010 - 05:48 PM

Walt - check for a PM ... and thanks!
My Heart is a Silent Harp,
Played by Other Lives,
Tuned by Changing Needs,
With an Audience of One.

T. D. McCoy'82

#4 pkrankow

pkrankow

    Member

  • Members
  • 5,373 posts
  • LocationOhio

Posted 13 June 2010 - 07:34 PM

I think http://www.weldingdepot.com has leads for a fair price, I was on there ordering PPE for my brother in law and myself last week. As always shop around.

Phil
Your brain is the most powerful tool you own.

#5 eric sprado

eric sprado

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • 583 posts
  • LocationDeadwood,Oregon

Posted 14 June 2010 - 02:50 PM

It's better to have longer extension chord (of right size of course) than longer leads. Longer leads have drop in power....
I've had a Century machine for a zillion years. More basic machine than the nice one you bought. Has been bullet proof...

#6 Dragons lair

Dragons lair

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,199 posts
  • LocationFairview NC

Posted 14 June 2010 - 09:27 PM

I have always found the oppsite. Welding leads are far better conductors than extension cords. Another factor is
can ya drag the welder a 100+ feet? Much easier to drag the leads.
Ken.

#7 Tim McCoy

Tim McCoy

    Member

  • Members
  • 474 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV

Posted 15 June 2010 - 01:10 AM

Thanks for the input this far ... another question - won't the cable for the plug in have to be heavier guage than the cables to the work?? won't they carry less amps/power or is it the other way around? Are the transformers in the box step-up or step-down? There is so much to learn !! Seen many units on the net that come with 50 or 100' cables.

Tim
My Heart is a Silent Harp,
Played by Other Lives,
Tuned by Changing Needs,
With an Audience of One.

T. D. McCoy'82

#8 Dragons lair

Dragons lair

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,199 posts
  • LocationFairview NC

Posted 15 June 2010 - 09:19 PM

Standard input cables are fine. Really long leads to be bigger. My 460 amp miller stick/tig runs on 100 amp input.
The 250 amp esab mig runs on 50 amps. That is wide open.
Ken

#9 BM454

BM454

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 314 posts
  • LocationSoddy-Daisy, Tennessee

Posted 16 June 2010 - 10:19 PM

I use quick connects on my leads. You can add to or take away as much as you like with them. I have to say they are money well spent.

http://www.google.co...0CBsQ8wIwBTgA#p
Any Job Worth Doing Is Worth Doing Right!!!

#10 Tim McCoy

Tim McCoy

    Member

  • Members
  • 474 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV

Posted 17 June 2010 - 12:03 AM

Thanks BM454

Found a source for Century Welder parts, etc. at http://www.Welder-Pros.com I have an e-mail out to them to find out if I can get a manual or parts list. More later ;)
My Heart is a Silent Harp,
Played by Other Lives,
Tuned by Changing Needs,
With an Audience of One.

T. D. McCoy'82

#11 Tim McCoy

Tim McCoy

    Member

  • Members
  • 474 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV

Posted 19 June 2010 - 07:13 PM

I have to add 220 outlet for my new welder ... have had a difficult time finding info about how it is done ... searching the net only. Came across a site the has a welding section http://www.TractorByNet.com

Had really good info about welding problems and how to hook up 220 service ... that site had 363 members and 2582 visitors on it today ... gotta love the net!! :rolleyes:
My Heart is a Silent Harp,
Played by Other Lives,
Tuned by Changing Needs,
With an Audience of One.

T. D. McCoy'82

#12 BM454

BM454

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 314 posts
  • LocationSoddy-Daisy, Tennessee

Posted 19 June 2010 - 07:59 PM

Here's a rather good page for what you are looking for. Just remember if you are going to have a long cord on your welder you may need bigger wire from the breaker box to the outlet. What you should do is contact an electrician in your area to find out how the wire size you need for the distance you are going to run your wire to. If you are going to need say 50 feet you will need bigger wire to hold the current. I'm no electrician but, I do know some about it. I know enough to wire 220. Odds are if you go to a store that sells mostly electrical supplies they will be able to tell you just what you need.

You can also look at the way your range is wired if you have an electric range that is and or a clothes dryer too. It's all the same. 220 is 220 ;)


http://weldingweb.co...php/t-9681.html
Any Job Worth Doing Is Worth Doing Right!!!

#13 Dragons lair

Dragons lair

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 1,199 posts
  • LocationFairview NC

Posted 20 June 2010 - 10:29 PM

Here's a rather good page for what you are looking for. Just remember if you are going to have a long cord on your welder you may need bigger wire from the breaker box to the outlet. What you should do is contact an electrician in your area to find out how the wire size you need for the distance you are going to run your wire to. If you are going to need say 50 feet you will need bigger wire to hold the current. I'm no electrician but, I do know some about it. I know enough to wire 220. Odds are if you go to a store that sells mostly electrical supplies they will be able to tell you just what you need.

You can also look at the way your range is wired if you have an electric range that is and or a clothes dryer too. It's all the same. 220 is 220 ;)


http://weldingweb.co...php/t-9681.html

Have to disagree with 220 is 220. My tig/stick miller Will Not run on a dryer service. It takes a 100 amp line. My
mig takes a 50 amp line. Also is it single or 3 phase power. Best to talk to a sparky. Had a big box guy tell me I could run the miller on 16ga wire. If ya don't know what you are doing get help. Working with 1 in sq buss lines 460
volt will make a beliver of you.
Ken.

#14 alfonso

alfonso

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • LocationCleveland, OH USA

Posted 21 June 2010 - 11:55 AM

Questions from a non-welder. I found a Century 220 volt 295 amp arc welder at a yard sale sans the leads for $50.00, I bought it. I have seen many arc welders on sale lately and it seems that everyone is still very proud of their equipment and asking "too much". I did a quick search on the net and can't seem to find much info about this particular unit... one guy says that Lincoln bought Century. The box is in very good shape externally, almost new, few scrapes and no dents and the places where the din plugs on the cables plug in are clean and straight. Works AC/DC and has a cutting/hole burning feature - yippie!

I think I got this at a good price - yes/no? I will start a search for some cables, but wanted to know if those can be home made and if it is okay to make'm longer than normal? And what is normal - 10' or 25'?? Any help will be appreciated - photos below. Oh yeah, gotta get to a class to learn how to use this thing ;)



Tim: I have the same welder, tho mine is the Cetury 250 Amp AC-DC output. Yours is a 295 amp AC only output.
you have 2 AC ranges- LOW & HIGH The LOW range has more arc volts for small rods, and hard to run AC rods like Low hydrogen 7018, stainless and hard surfacing. High range is for all dia 6011,6013/7014/7024 rods.
They were made in the 1980's, and yours looks to be in beautiful shape, used very little. They are very tough welders that give long touble free service. Base on how expensive new welders are today, YOU GOT A GREAT DEAL!. You will need a to wire it for 240Volt-60 amp [min] input. Mine will trip off a 50 amp breaker, if I weld over 145 amps. I had to install a 60 amp breaker to weld up to 225-250 amp. It will pop that if you weld more than the duty cycle of the welder[2mins, out of 10mins] Also, you need to use a #6 input wire size. Do not go over 30ft [both welding cables] use #2 welding cable[too long will cause voltage drop = hard arc staring.
Always lengthen the input power cable, not the output welding cables on Transformer type welders.
Machinist/Welder since 1973
Blacksmith Enthusiast since 2008 "know just enough to be dangerous"
My videos at http://www.youtube.com/user/alpho52

#15 Tim McCoy

Tim McCoy

    Member

  • Members
  • 474 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV

Posted 21 June 2010 - 11:36 PM

Thanks to all of you for your input! I have learned to throw out the questions and wait for the answers.

Alfonso: I have a model 110-081 Century stick welder220 volt 295 amp AC only unit. Found out mine was made prior to 1982. I appreciate your comments about this unit. Gotta buy some cable now and stinger and connectors ... located a wiring diagram and a parts list ... let me know if you would like copies. Got my infor from:

http://www.Welder-Pros.com

... can hardly wait to get the 220 installed and get to welding :lol:

Yippie!
Tim
My Heart is a Silent Harp,
Played by Other Lives,
Tuned by Changing Needs,
With an Audience of One.

T. D. McCoy'82

#16 TotinTools

TotinTools

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 September 2010 - 11:09 PM

I have been selling Century machines since 1982. I have sold a few of the AC/DC version of yours, but not the straight AC one like it looks like yours is. We have the cable ends so you can buy your own cable or sometimes you can get the Miller 3/8" cable ends to fit in the connectors. Of course all of the older Century welders like yours were a shunt design welder, making constant arc voltage no matter where you put the amperage setting. That puts them in a category with the more expensive machines that the competitors made. If I can help you with any parts or e-mail you parts books or wiring diagrams, let me know.
Thanks,
Mont Howard
www.Welder-Pros.com
E-mail: [email protected]

#17 eric sprado

eric sprado

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • 583 posts
  • LocationDeadwood,Oregon

Posted 29 September 2010 - 12:58 AM

Any of you going through or near Shelley Idaho might want to stop in a meet Mont.. He has been VERY kind to respond to my offline emails and supply me with practical technical information for my Century buzz box!! They are a feed store,but sell AND repair welders as I understand it...

#18 maddog

maddog

    Member

  • Members
  • 439 posts
  • LocationNew Mexico

Posted 29 September 2010 - 08:27 AM

You got a great deal! But you are going to have to drop some money on cables. Fact is you probably would have had to even if the original cables were still attached. These units typically come with 12' #4 gauge leads, which are too short and too small a gauge.

The lower the voltage, the larger the conductor has to be to push the same amount of power through a line. Which is why power transmission lines run at extremely high voltages. And, of course, the longer the run, the thicker the conductor has to be to supply the same current. Welding cables run low voltages and huge currents. They are heavy thick and expensive. It's much cheaper to put a long power cord on a welder than it is to buy long leads. But welders are heavy and clumsy, even small ones like yours. Even on a cart, do you want to be pulling it around the shop every time you need to weld?

The best is probably a compromise. 25' Welding leads, #1 gauge will probably reach every where in your shop. On the day that you need to weld under a trailer out in the street or set up a swing set in the back yard, you can make up a 220v extension cord and drag the welder out to the job. And like someone says, the gauge will depend on the length of the run.

I have 25' #1 cables on my Idealarc 300, with quick connects on the end so that I can snap in another 25' extension if I need. (the Idealarc weighs 800lbs so rolling out into the driveway is not an option). When I bought the cable, #1 is about $2/ft, I got red and black leads. I would like to make the first 25' out of 1/0 gauge. That will have to wait till I have made my fortune in blacksmithing.

The stinger lead is 3ft of #4 which snaps into the quick connect on the end of the heavy red cable. This makes it easier to manipulate the rod and a few ft of small gauge doesnt have much effect at regular rod sizes. I have a variety of different ground clamps which I can snap onto the quick connect on the end of the black cable. I also have a quick connect lead attached to my welding table.
Life is short. Eat dessert first. Salad can wait.

#19 Tim McCoy

Tim McCoy

    Member

  • Members
  • 474 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV

Posted 01 October 2010 - 01:00 AM

Maddog
Thanks for the input ... Meancoyote was kind enough to front me 62' of 1/0 cable for the Century welder along with a bag of other goodies for work I will help him with once the Vegas weather stays below 100. Thanks Meancoyote!!! I made a 25' stinger lead and a 20' work lead ... had to buy 2 Lenco hp-10 connectors, a stinger, and now the unit sets under a welding table that I have cobbled together. I will seldom need to move the welder as most of any work that I will do will be small projects. Just waiting for my next allowance issue from the spousal unit to get the 220 installed in the garage. Yes the welder is heavy ... like everything else I have gathered together to learn to be a blacksmith.

Next project is to install a $2 amp selector switch rod, a new power cord and stinger on a Lincoln AC/DC 225 that I picked up for $20 :lol: I love CL and yard sales!!! Photos once we're done.
My Heart is a Silent Harp,
Played by Other Lives,
Tuned by Changing Needs,
With an Audience of One.

T. D. McCoy'82

#20 Steve Sells

Steve Sells

    IFI Staff

  • Members
  • 4,209 posts
  • LocationFt Wayne IN, USA

Posted 01 October 2010 - 06:00 PM

For your sake I hope you hire a real electrician. There are many reasons for a 4 to 5 year apprenticeships before being allowed to take the licensee exam.

220V is the name plate minimum voltage for the welder, not what is available from the home service. Also since voltage drop is always a factor, no one can tell you what size wire to run with out knowing the distance or other factors effecting this voltage drop to your service receptacle.

If you want to trust the guy making $8 a hour at the box store, rather than a electrician, fine. Don't forget the building permit for a new install. Home owner Insurance companies dont normally pay for damages from a home owner doing un-licensed installs. Be careful
Steve Sells
http://fenrisforge.com

If you have OCD and ADHD , everything has to be perfect, but not for very long,




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users