I Forge Iron

My 701 pound Hay Budden...& a few others.....

Registered my membership a few years ago, but have been out of the blacksmith stuff for some time now.....I think I'll fire up the ole forge again soon!

This thread is just showing some of my tools for your viewing....I know I enjoy looking at other's tools, so here goes!!

Here is a few pics of my 701 Hay Budden, marked "Shapeliegh Hardware Company, BLACK PRINCE, ST. Louis, 701" on Original anvil stand (which nearly weighs as much as the anvil!). It came off the Missouri Pacific Railroad in St. Louis. ENJOY....

post-3475-016475600 1273847390_thumb.jpg

post-3475-073301300 1273847407_thumb.jpg

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks for the replies guys. I've owned over 800 anvils in the past 18 years, this 701 HB is one of the largest ones I've had. Just really like anvils I guess....they tell a story, you know?

I am 3 hours from St. Louis.

I do leatherwork for a living. You can view my websites if you wish: www.anvilcustoms.com and www.leatherchainwallets.com

Have a great weekend everyone....

Ryan @ Anvil Customs

800 ANVILS !!!!! Are you serious?? That's impressive. Nice anvil by the way. The largest anvil I have seen in person was 600 lbs. and that made my 275 lb. anvil look small by comparison. Then again, it should considering it's over twice the weight. <_<

I am not sure of the EXACT weight, but Mengel and Green have around a 803# Hay Budden, so it is not the largest, but certainly up there!

Doesn't surprise me. I'm not saying I have the biggest HB ever, just showing pics. I'm sure there is a larger HB than Mengel/Green's too.....there always is.

Mengel/Green came to my place and bought a 50lb. Novelty IronWorks Power Hammer from me a few years back.....nice guys, they have some cool stuff.

I still have a little miniture swage block they use to make.....