I Forge Iron

How to make a knife?

Hurtoi Alexandru

Hello everybody, my name is Alexander Hurtoi from Romania.
For about a year I keep thinking that I want to forge a knife. I have worked with metal before (welding, stamping, filing, etc..), i can say that i am not a beginner in metalworking but not as skilled blacksmith (it is an art too fine for me).
If you can help me with some advice: what materials to use (leaf spring?), hardening techniques, etc.
I understand that I can do a knife made of leaf spring, please give me some links from which I could learn how to make a knife of this material.
Thank you in advance.

Hello everybody, my name is Alexander Hurtoi from Romania.
For about a year I keep thinking that I want to forge a knife. I have worked with metal before (welding, stamping, filing, etc..), i can say that i am not a beginner in metalworking but not as skilled blacksmith (it is an art too fine for me).
If you can help me with some advice: what materials to use (leaf spring?), hardening techniques, etc.
I understand that I can do a knife made of leaf spring, please give me some links from which I could learn how to make a knife of this material.
Thank you in advance.

WELCOME Hurtoi!

Like you, I thought about making a knife for a long time before I decided try my hand at it. I think I've been fairly successful for a beginner. The couple of knives I've made have turned out well - particularly given the tools I had to work with.

I documented both the buildng of a propane forge and making a knife using leaf spring steel. I've had both documents reviewed by several bladesmiths and they've verified that the my processes are good.

I've posted some of the information here but I'm also attaching the documents for you to use.

Good Luck!

Second Knife Build.doc

Venturi Propane Forge.doc