I Forge Iron

H13 tool steel heat treating, tool making

I'm sure this question has been asked a thousand times, but if you have any info i would appreciate it. How is h13 to forge? Do you stick to a specific temperature range? How do you make your chisels, punches, drifts etc? Do you mostly grind away excess material or do you forge to your wanted shape and then grind edges? I ordered some 3/4 h13 to make tools, and i don't want to ruin good tool steel as i am new to this whole process. I wanted to start out with some durable stuff for my first tools, but from what i have read, most people talk about spring steel, not h13. I understand it is quite durable, but cooling while using for hot work is important. I have heard some say that tempering is not needed because the hot work and cooling will temper it automatically. Again sorry if this is a redundant topic. Also if anyone has some pictures of their punches and chisels, and drifts i would be interested in seeing them. especially that really long drift Mr Brazeal uses to make hammers. Seems like a good idea to have a long drift for alot of varied sizes of holes.
thanks
Brian

is the h13 that difficult to work with? I'm not concerned with cost. I know it has a narrow margin of heat but is it still difficult to work with with the right heat zone? Is the gist of what you are saying that it is beyond my skill level at this point?

Brian,
When are you planning on leaving? I'd love to come by, unfortunately the next two weekends are out. I think you are only 2 1/2 hours away. I have to work during the week. I am starting a huge job at the naval base near china lake though, so in the future i won't be that far from you.

Brian,
When are you planning on leaving? I'd love to come by, unfortunately the next two weekends are out. I think you are only 2 1/2 hours away. I have to work during the week. I am starting a huge job at the naval base near china lake though, so in the future i won't be that far from you.