I Forge Iron

Power Hammers

This thread was just started the day before the crash, so let's just get it going again.

I have ordered a 115# Octagon Iron Kiss pneumatic hammer from John Larson; it will be here mid July, and I have already selected a rigger for moving the 3,000# of hammer into my shop.

It is coming with a set of flat dies, and a set of combo dies.

I spent a couple of hours on a Big Blue 110# air hammer yesterday, and learned a lot, mostly how many new windows a power hammer opens.

So, let's share info, tips, techniques, pictures and have fun on this wonder family site!

Ellen,

A huge topic, to be sure...I am a student of the flat die school so have 4x7 flat dies on a 100 lb mechanical hammer with a lot of "saddle" tooling and loose set tools. Many other smiths like combo dies and I do not believe there is one "right" answer. A lot will depend on what type of work you do and what your comfort level is in running the hammer. Having said all this, I'd probably start with the combo dies for general forging until you are quite comfortable with the hammer, then try something on the flat dies with a set tool.

I have a 75lb Common Sense #2 mechanical hammer. I call it the purple beast. It runs off a flat belt. I have created a stand that holds a 5 hp motor with a couple of jack shafts to slow things down. The dies are flat, with the bottom being about 4" x 5" and the top being about 2" x 5".

I'm not completely comfortable using it yet. There is a lot more it can do than I can. I'm sure over time I will get much more use out of it.

There are a lot of pics of me rebuilding it on my web site at http://fredlyfx.com/hammer.htm

In the other power hammer line, I was asking if anyone had any experience with the Phoenix hammer. I've been looking over their video presentation for quite some time now, but haven't made up my mind. If I had my druthers, I'd have a stable of power hammers that would make the faint of heart fall into a swoon. LOL