Quantcast BecomeABladesmith.com ?? - Page 4 - Blacksmith Forum
Blacksmith Forum

I Forge Iron

Blacksmith and Metalworking Forum

 

BecomeABladesmith.com ??

This is a discussion on BecomeABladesmith.com ?? within the Knives in General forums, part of the Bladesmithing category; I saw this mob a while ago myself and asked for info, not because I believe a ruddy word they ...


Go Back   Blacksmith Forum > Bladesmithing > Knives in General

Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply

 

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2008, 08:55 PM
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Anywhere they'll let me put a tent up but London for now
Posts: 365
Default

I saw this mob a while ago myself and asked for info, not because I believe a ruddy word they say but to see how deep the rabbit hole was.
I mean there I was spending thousands (all six of them I could scrounge) sleeping in my car, in a tent, even a snowhole, navigating through foreign lands and foreign'er' languages for nearly two years to learn somthing I could have just sent off $200 for. BOY do I feel like a proper mug!
These people are a bunch of..... barstools, and I want them gone.
__________________
If 'life' is a lesson then 'the world' is our teacher...

"but tha' just can't beat gettin' thee 'ands mucky"!!!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2008, 01:43 AM
wulfgar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Trochu AB, Canada.
Posts: 31
Default

what are they talking about...PSU?
__________________
Of the four elements, air, earth, water, and fire, man stole only one from the gods. Fire. And with it, man forged his will upon the world.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2008, 04:57 AM
ironrosefarms's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Clay County, Indiana
Posts: 326
Default

As I was cruising around their site I believe I found a way to shut them down without much of a fight on our part...

On one of their pages they list Microsoft as a member of a joint venture in their IT certification. I believe this is a trademark infringement plain and simple, so I contacted Microsoft corporate offices concerning this issue. In my experience Microsoft takes any infringement pretty seriously...
__________________
“He who allows his day to pass by without practicing love, generosity, mercy and praising God is like a blacksmith's bellows: he breathes but does not live.”
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2008, 03:27 PM
JPH JPH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 300
Default

Hello..

OK...I have been doinh more "digging" into this scam and now they refuse toi give any names of any of their "World Famous" graduates..In fact as they out it if it wasn;t for Become a Licensed Bladesmith! NONE of their graduates wold of "made it"....

I gotta get these shysters shut down....

I am ready to go to the matresses with these folks and whiloe they will refuse to "acknowledge" my "legitamacy" as far as my creds go...they are in foir a very rude wake up call. They refuse to name this Italian "MAster Smith" that has several books published and is "world famous"...they are a scam and hey need to be stopped...

Know this..I can be a great big PITA when I have to be and when i walk in to the NV AG's office I will be gunning for bear...

JPH
__________________
just lil\' ol\' me,
AKA
The Passionately Purple Cactus Flower of Genteel Desert Manhood.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2008, 04:28 PM
Finnr's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 839
Default

ROCK ON Dr Jim!!!!! Kick some serious butt!!
Finnr
__________________
I see that you're a blacksmith.
Not an ordinary bum.
For who else but a blacksmith,
Stirs his coffee with his thumb.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2008, 08:46 PM
keykeeper's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: W. Central WV
Posts: 602
Default

I Googled Phoenix State University...they have all kinds of "certifications" you can get.

Did you know you can be a certified "reloader"? I clicked the link, and it's set up the same as the "Become a Bladesmith" site. Matter of fact, the whole PSU site is set up like it. Frauds. Plain and Simple.

Dr. Jim, best of luck taking these guys down!!!!
__________________
"In all you do, do it well, because life's too short to be a hack!"-ac

Sole Proprietor of Peedabed Forge- "because momma always said that's what happens when you play with fire!"
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2008, 12:21 AM
ironrosefarms's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Clay County, Indiana
Posts: 326
Default

What I think is so funny is if you go through and look at who they say gives them their accreditation the website you'll find when googled is as identical as can be even the font and pictures are the same!

I'm interested in seeing if Microsoft will take exception to the use of their name and training...

I personally would be very suprised if they are really in Nevada, Colorado (another place they claim as home) or Phoenix as their name represents... I wouldn't be surprised if they was actually from Elbonia or some other exotic cartoon infested land...

James
__________________
“He who allows his day to pass by without practicing love, generosity, mercy and praising God is like a blacksmith's bellows: he breathes but does not live.”
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2008, 12:34 AM
rmcpb's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW
Posts: 381
Default

Yep, take them down BUT not before they can teach me how to stop burning myself with scale and black hot metal and how to make PERFECT products that others can't resist, all for $200.

Go for them..........................
__________________
Rob

Small forge, a few tools and an anvil.
Lots of scrap iron.
Two enthusiastic sons.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2008, 08:04 PM
JPH JPH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 300
Default

Hello All:

Well..I had a long and interesting discussion with an investigator from the NV Attourney General's Office and he said while it looks very "bad"..it just boarders on being legal.

Since they provide what they say, a "certificate" and the materials they say they provide, they are fulfilling a contract. As far as the legitimacy of the certificate, that is up to "the industry" to either accpet or reject.

The gist of the matter is unless a bunch of people start throwing a fit there's little that can be done as they ARE providing what they say.

From what I could garner from my talk is unless someone is wiling to get "taken" for a couple of hundred bucks and take them to civil court for fraud, there's not much that can be done and these folks know it...

So..I am sorry to be the bearer of unhappy tidings but I am open to suggestions....

JPH
__________________
just lil\' ol\' me,
AKA
The Passionately Purple Cactus Flower of Genteel Desert Manhood.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2008, 11:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MO
Posts: 222
Default

ok it is likely that the only way to stop them is to pay up then get them for fraud but before someone bites the bullet we need to get a detailed description of the course from them so we know when they have failed to upohold their end of the contract

may i recomend that we not use bladesmithing as the bait course because they probly know that we are out to stop them with their bladesmithing gimmick

if i have this right the PSU is one groop so pick any other program have one person send an email asking for info with well defined questions and they are not sa likely to catch that we are trying the same thing again with a diffrent course
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0