Quantcast BecomeABladesmith.com ?? - Blacksmith Forum
Blacksmith Forum

I Forge Iron

Blacksmith and Metalworking Forum

 

BecomeABladesmith.com ??

This is a discussion on BecomeABladesmith.com ?? within the Knives in General forums, part of the Bladesmithing category; Hello all: Ok I just stumbled onto these folks.. www.becomeabladesmith.com by a fluke accident. I never, ever in my life ...


Go Back   Blacksmith Forum > Bladesmithing > Knives in General

Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply

 

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2008, 12:07 AM
JPH JPH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 300
Default BecomeABladesmith.com ??

Hello all:

Ok I just stumbled onto these folks..www.becomeabladesmith.com by a fluke accident. I never, ever in my life read so much drivel before, and believe me I have read more than my fair share.

These folks say that you can become a "Licensed Bladesmith" in 6 weeks and make up to 200K US the first year and...here's the real kick in the head (at least for me)..Bladesmiths are exempt from State and Federal laws!! Gee ..I didn't know that....

OK..what can we do to get these folks shut down? This is a bogus scam if I ever read one.

Now I will admit that the ABS and I do have several differences of opinions and we do not see eye to eye on more than a few things but for some reason this whole "send in your money and in 6 weeks you can become a Master Bladesmith" thiung just gets under my skin...

So what can we do to prevent this from continuing??

JPH
__________________
just lil\' ol\' me,
AKA
The Passionately Purple Cactus Flower of Genteel Desert Manhood.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2008, 12:25 AM
Finnr's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 839
Default

P.T Barnum was right!!! There is one born every minute , and there is somebody out to fleece him before he's born! What a load of trash!!

Spreading to word to bladesmith forums is preaching to the choir . I suppose starting with the Better business people would get something going.
Finnr
__________________
I see that you're a blacksmith.
Not an ordinary bum.
For who else but a blacksmith,
Stirs his coffee with his thumb.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2008, 11:53 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sakai-shi, Japan
Posts: 5
Default what a dirty scam!

MAN, that xxxxxx me off. I've sent emails to the American Bladesmith Society and the University of Phoenix (because that site is part of a bigger site called "Phoenix State University" which is meant to trick people into thinking its part of a real school).

There is probably nothing anyone can do, but....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2008, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento Valley, California
Posts: 212
Default

No one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American people - H.L. Menken

This operation, Phoenix State University™, is just close enough name to muddy the water and be confused with University of Phoenix®, a reputable operation that offers campus and online degree programs, certificate courses, and individual online classes.

Regulatory SIC and Copyrights As a primary publisher of “how to” guides in many areas, PSU and it’s subsidiaries are covered by both Copyright and First Amendment protections. Our regulatory SIC’s fall under the jurisdiction of the State of Colorado. Our mailing and return material processing address is: PSU, 2880 West Sahara Ave, Suite 369, Las Vegas NV 89102

All of the URL's for our courses are leased from an Independent ISP, and cannot be sold by us, for information, contact the registrar. Your certificate is for completion of the materials you receive, is dependent on returning an exam(s), and does not constitute a bachelor's, masters, PhD, or other evidence of completion of a higher education degree. Although your materials often include licensing information, checklists, completion validation, forms, etc., PSU does not issue the license directly when such license comes from a governmental source, such as your FFL.


Perhaps the fine people over at 419 Eater could be encouraged to go mano a mano with Phoenix State University™ and have their pay pal account legally suspended .
Welcome to the 419 Eater
Welcome to the 419 Eater

Last edited by nett; 07-24-2008 at 02:43 AM. Reason: yes
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2008, 06:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 280
Default

I wouldn't be suprised if they slapped up a reccomendation by one IPH, author of "The Comprehensive Bladesmith".

Last edited by Nick; 07-24-2008 at 09:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2008, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 169
Default

ok this is probably a stupid question but did anyone notice that the master bladesmith course is cheaper than the journeyman course?
__________________
It is only through learning our flaws that we can uncover our perfection.

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. - Thomas Edison
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2008, 01:46 PM
JPH JPH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 300
Default

Hummm now...East Sahara in Las Vegas??? Methinks I will swing by there real soon and see what their offices look like...what ya want to bet it is a mail drop? Not that there's anything wrong with mail drops, as I use one for my business mailing address (and on my cards..You never know where a business card ends up orwith who and since I have a rather large firearm collection...well...), but this outfit who is so proud of what they are should have a whole slew of offices right??

Yeah these folks have really gotten under my skin. And the further I dig the more irritated I become for some reason.

JPH
__________________
just lil\' ol\' me,
AKA
The Passionately Purple Cactus Flower of Genteel Desert Manhood.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2008, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NJ Pinebarrens
Posts: 547
Default

The inter-net is loaded with this kind of stuff, unfortunately, and for some reason there is nothing ever done about it.

welder19
__________________
It's better to be hated for who you are than to be loved for who you are not
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2008, 03:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woonsocket RI.
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPH View Post
Hummm now...East Sahara in Las Vegas??? Methinks I will swing by there real soon and see what their offices look like...what ya want to bet it is a mail drop? Not that there's anything wrong with mail drops, as I use one for my business mailing address (and on my cards..You never know where a business card ends up orwith who and since I have a rather large firearm collection...well...), but this outfit who is so proud of what they are should have a whole slew of offices right??

Yeah these folks have really gotten under my skin. And the further I dig the more irritated I become for some reason.

JPH
If you happen to be near vegas on aug 12-14th or so, send me a PM and we can get together, i'll be on vacation and in las vegas from the afternoon of the 11th till the morning of the 18th, with a conference thusrday night friday and saturday =P We could check the place out together, me with my camera too.
__________________
----
Justin "Tharkis" Mercier
www.tharkis.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2008, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Az
Posts: 886
Default

I sent the fplks a e mail asking for a run down of the courses, Where could I find and visit a campus and more information about the licensing. I have not heard anything back......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0